The Board

Main Board

Executive Committee

  • Mike Turner CBE

    Mike Turner CBE


    Mike Turner was appointed Chairman of Babcock International Group PLC on 1 November 2008 after retiring from his position as Chief Executive of BAE Systems. He was also Chairman of the Defence Industries Council (DIC) from October 2007 until May 2010, and is a member of the Government's Apprenticeship Ambassadors Network. He is a non-executive Director of Lazard Limited and GKN PLC.

    Back To Top
  • Peter Rogers CBE

    Peter Rogers CBE

    Chief Executive

    Peter Rogers joined the Group as Chief Operating Officer on 1 June 2002 and was appointed to the Board on 13 June 2002. On 1 August 2003 he became Group Chief Executive Officer. He is a former Director of Courtaulds PLC and Acordis BV. He is also a non-executive Director of Galliford Try PLC.

    Back To Top
  • Bill Tame

    Bill Tame

    Group Finance Director

    Bill Tame joined the Board as Group Finance Director on 25 January 2002. He is a former Finance Director of Scapa Group PLC and is currently a non-executive Director of Carclo PLC.

    Back To Top
  • Sir Nigel Essenhigh GCB

    Sir Nigel Essenhigh GCB

    Independent Non-Executive Director

    Sir Nigel Essenhigh joined the Board as a non-executive Director with effect from 4 March 2003 and is a member of the Company's Audit and Risk, Remuneration and Nominations Committees. Until his retirement from the Royal Navy in late 2002 he was First Sea Lord and Chief of the Naval Staff.

    Back To Top
  • Justin Crookenden

    Justin Crookenden

    Chairman of the Remuneration Committee, Independent Non-Executive Director

    Justin Crookenden joined the Board as a non-executive Director with effect from 1 December 2005. After qualifying as a chartered accountant he spent he spent 17 years in investment banking, initially with UBS, moving to Barclays de Zoete Wedd in 1990, which was acquired by Credit Suisse First Boston ('CSFB'). During his career he headed the teams responsible for International Equity Execution and UK M&A and his last role at CSFB was as Managing Director UK Investment Banking. He became Chairman of the Company's Remuneration Committee on 1 April 2009 and is also a member of the Company's Audit and Risk and Nominations Committees.

    Back To Top
  • Sir David Omand GCB

    Sir David Omand GCB

    Senior Independent Director

    Sir David joined the Board on 1 April 2009 as a Non-Executive Director and in January 2012 was appointed Senior Independent Director. He is also a member of the Company's Audit and Risk, Remuneration and Nominations Committees. He was the first UK Security and Intelligence Coordinator, responsible for the professional health of the intelligence community, national counter-terrorism strategy and ‘homeland security', and was the UK Government's chief crisis manager for civil contingencies. He served for seven years on the Joint Intelligence Committee. He was previously Permanent Secretary of the Home Office, Director of GCHQ (the UK Signals Intelligence and Information Assurance Agency) and Deputy Under Secretary of State for Policy in the Ministry of Defence. He was Principal Private Secretary to the Defence Secretary during the Falklands conflict, and was the UK Defence Counsellor in NATO Brussels for three years. He left Government service in 2005.

    Back To Top
  • Ian Duncan

    Ian Duncan

    Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee; Independent Non-Executive Director

    Ian Duncan joined the Babcock Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director in November 2010. He was Group Finance Director of Royal Mail Holdings PLC from 2006 until June 2010. He is a Chartered Accountant and his former roles have included the position of Corporate Finance Director at British Nuclear Fuels and as Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President at Westinghouse Electric Company LLC in Pennsylvania, USA. He is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and is also a member of the Company’s Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

    Back To Top
  • Kate Swann

    Kate Swann

    Independent Non-Executive Director

    Kate Swann is currently Group Chief Executive of WH Smith PLC. Prior to that she was Managing Director of Argos, the leading general merchandise retailer, and before that was Managing Director of Homebase Ltd. Between 2006 and 2009 she was a Non-Executive Director of The British Land Company PLC. She is a member of the Company’s Audit and Risk, Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

    Back To Top
  • Kevin Thomas

    Kevin Thomas

    Divisional Chief Executive, Support Services Division

    Kevin was appointed to the position of Chief Executive, Support Services Division in February 2010. He joined the Board on 1 May 2010. Prior to this, he spent 3 years as Group Business Development Director responsible for strategic planning, bidding processes & techniques and co-ordination of M&A activity. Kevin was Managing Director of Babcock's Infrastructure business unit, winning and then delivering several large contracts for Defence Estates. Prior to joining Babcock, he spent 12 years in facilities management, including seven years with Serco Group PLC and 15 years in local government with Merton, Surrey and Southwark Councils. Kevin is a past Chairman of the Business Services Association, a prominent support services trade association.

    Back To Top
  • Archie Bethel CBE

    Archie Bethel CBE

    Divisional Chief Executive, Marine & Technology Division

    Archie Bethel joined Babcock in January 2004 and was appointed Chief Executive of Marine on its formation in mid June 2007. He was appointed to the Board on 1 May 2010. Archie is a Chartered Mechanical Engineer and a graduate of the University of Strathclyde (BSc,MBA) and in 2003 was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng).

    Back To Top
  • John Davies

    John Davies

    Divisional Chief Executive, Defence & Security Division

    A qualified solicitor, John has worked in the defence industry since joining BAE Systems in 1990. During his time at BAE, he was involved in the upgrade of the Harrier GR5 and in bidding international projects. In 1993 John joined Bombardier and was subsequently appointed Commercial Director for Bombardier Defence securing several major MoD outsourcing projects including the Royal Air Force’s Pathfinder PFI Project. Following the acquisition of Bombardier Defence by VT Group in 2000, John was appointed Managing Director of VT Aerospace. In 2006 John was appointed MD of VT Support Services and also appointed to the VT Group Executive Committee. In 2009 John was appointed VT Group Managing Director with specific responsibility for Defence. He became Divisional Chief Executive, Defence & Security Division of the Company following the acquisition of VT Group in 2010.

    Back To Top
  • Kevin Goodman

    Kevin Goodman

    Group Director of Organisation & Development

    Kevin Goodman joined Babcock in 2001. He was a Director of both our Defence & Security and Marine & Technology Divisions prior to his appointment to the Executive. In his present role he is responsible for Remuneration, Talent Management, Executive Development and Diversity. He is a Trustee of Babcock’s pension schemes.

    Back To Top
  • Albert Dungate

    Albert Dungate

    General Counsel & Company Secretary

    Albert Dungate was appointed as Group Company Secretary and General Counsel on 1 February 2002. A solicitor, he was formerly General Counsel and Company Secretary of Arjo Wiggins Appleton PLC. He is Secretary to the Company's Audit and Risk, Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

    Back To Top
Get in touch, email Communications Team

Send a message:

Send a message direct to Communications Team

Investors Governance Page Investors Governance Page